The National Glass Collectors Fair

Heading: National Glass Collectors Fair

Preview Gallery

Glass From Our May 2017 Glass Fair

The images featured in this Preview Gallery illustrate examples of glass
that were offered for sale at our 7 May 2017 glass fair.

In the weeks leading up to our next fair we will update the gallery, adding photos of the glass that will be available for purchase on Sunday 12 November 2017.

To make it easier for collectors to view the type of glass they are interested in, the glass featured in the Preview Gallery has been placed into separate categories.


In Focus: Danaides Vase by R. Lalique

Danaides Vase by R. Lalique
Danaides Vase by R. Lalique

The ‘Danaides’ design was by Lalique in 1926 (see Marcilhac 972).

René Lalique (1860-1945) created more than three hundred vase designes using a great variety of styles and manufacturing techniques. These ranged from crystal or opalescent glass, through to coloured, stained or cased designs.

Lalique's gift to the world was to bring fine art in glass to a world-wide market. He combined stunning design with innovative manufacturing methods.

‘Danaides’ is a great example of his approach to design, which often included an appealing subject with artistic subtext.

The ‘Danaides’ idea was probably inspired by a 1903 painting by John William Waterhouse. ‘The Danaides’ depicting some of the fifty daughters of Danaus, who were forced to marry the fifty sons of his twin brother. Legend has it that all but one of them killed their husbands on their wedding night and were condemned to an eternity of pouring water into a perforated pot.

Please visit our In Focus page for more highlights from the 7 May 2017
National Glass Fair >>>

Visit the 19th & 20th Century gallery to view more examples of glassware from this period.

 

17th & 18th Century Glass

*Visit this Preview Gallery if you are interested in drinking glasses, decanters and other glassware from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 8 May 2017]

19th & 20th Century Glass

*This Preview Gallery is dedicated to decorative and collectable glass of all kinds from the 19th & 20th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>

[Last Updated 8 May 2017]

Contemporary Glass

*This Preview Gallery should be your first port of call if you are interested in work by contemporary glass artists, makers and designers.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 8 May 2017]

Antique & Modern Paperweights

*This Preview Gallery is aimed at collectors interested in both antique and modern paperweights.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 8 May 2017]

If you haven't already signed up to our mailing list, please fill out the form below and we will notify you when the Preview Gallery has been updated for our next fair.

Mailing List Form